Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Bjoern
Posts: 85
Joined: 16 Sep 2016, 18:07

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Bjoern » 15 Jul 2017, 22:18

Does anyone else find the spoiler functionality a bit wonky?
I can't use the keyboard controls and have to use the cockpit lever, which is a bit tedious.
The takeoff checklist says that the spoilers need to be armed, but this isn't possible since the key event is blocked.


On the MFD, the TOD distance indication is on top of another indication, making it impossible to read either one. Known bug?

User avatar
The320Pilot
Posts: 324
Joined: 29 Jul 2014, 22:47

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by The320Pilot » 16 Jul 2017, 03:31

Bjoern wrote:
15 Jul 2017, 22:18
The takeoff checklist says that the spoilers need to be armed, but this isn't possible since the key event is blocked.
The spoilers automatically arm at 80 kts in the FD-FMC A320.
On the MFD, the TOD distance indication is on top of another indication, making it impossible to read either one. Known bug?
In my sim, the bottom left corner of the MFD shows the next waypoint. When the TOD is before the next waypoint, that corner will only show the distance remaining to reach TOD. After descent has begun, I can see the next waypoint again. There are no indications superimposed.

Prosdocimo
Posts: 228
Joined: 10 Oct 2014, 12:05

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Prosdocimo » 16 Jul 2017, 08:37

Bjoern wrote:
15 Jul 2017, 22:04
Prosdocimo wrote:
15 Jul 2017, 16:32
Hi. When FMC switches from Cruise to Descent.. is autothrottle supposed to reduce throttles? Or do I have to do it manually? In my sim throttles any more go to idle when descent stars. I have v1.60
What worked for me (and is stated in the manual, I think) is pushing the ALT hold button on the MCDU.
Hi. Yes I do. When i reach TOD, i get "deceleration" flashing and I press ALT (left click). I get "THR idle" and "more drag" messages but throttles stay on Climb detend and I need to idle manually. On my not modified A321 v1.60 everything is ok.

Bjoern
Posts: 85
Joined: 16 Sep 2016, 18:07

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Bjoern » 16 Jul 2017, 13:35

The320Pilot wrote:
16 Jul 2017, 03:31
The spoilers automatically arm at 80 kts in the FD-FMC A320.
Is that the reason why they're blocked for manual operation?

It's probably an easy fix, but sometimes, finding the offending code in the 834983460346 XML files is awfully hard.
In my sim, the bottom left corner of the MFD shows the next waypoint. When the TOD is before the next waypoint, that corner will only show the distance remaining to reach TOD. After descent has begun, I can see the next waypoint again. There are no indications superimposed.
Weird. Need to check the MFD code then.

wulfbindewald
Posts: 385
Joined: 20 Jan 2014, 21:27

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by wulfbindewald » 16 Jul 2017, 14:19

Bjoern wrote:
16 Jul 2017, 13:35
The320Pilot wrote:
16 Jul 2017, 03:31
In my sim, the bottom left corner of the MFD shows the next waypoint. When the TOD is before the next waypoint, that corner will only show the distance remaining to reach TOD. After descent has begun, I can see the next waypoint again. There are no indications superimposed.
Weird. Need to check the MFD code then.
What is weird?
This kind of display has been extra chosen to visualize the remaining distance to TOD beginning 20nm away from TOD. The alternative would be to include a TOD symbol for better visualization on the corresponding leg (as in reality) but the coding was far too complicate. So I strongly hope to remain with the current definition as is.

Prosdocimo
Posts: 228
Joined: 10 Oct 2014, 12:05

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Prosdocimo » 16 Jul 2017, 15:15

Prosdocimo wrote:
16 Jul 2017, 08:37
Bjoern wrote:
15 Jul 2017, 22:04
Prosdocimo wrote:
15 Jul 2017, 16:32
Hi. When FMC switches from Cruise to Descent.. is autothrottle supposed to reduce throttles? Or do I have to do it manually? In my sim throttles any more go to idle when descent stars. I have v1.60
What worked for me (and is stated in the manual, I think) is pushing the ALT hold button on the MCDU.
Hi. Yes I do. When i reach TOD, i get "deceleration" flashing and I press ALT (left click). I get "THR idle" and "more drag" messages but throttles stay on Climb detend and I need to idle manually. On my not modified A321 v1.60 everything is ok.
It's weird. As if i right-click going to selected mode and then i left-click.. it works (levers go to idle)

Prosdocimo
Posts: 228
Joined: 10 Oct 2014, 12:05

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Prosdocimo » 16 Jul 2017, 15:21

Bjoern wrote:
16 Jul 2017, 13:35

Is that the reason why they're blocked for manual operation?

It's probably an easy fix, but sometimes, finding the offending code in the 834983460346 XML files is awfully
There was a discussion many topics ago, about spoilers key usage and the issue coming from, regarding a particular part of the FMC's code. I don't remember what.

Bjoern
Posts: 85
Joined: 16 Sep 2016, 18:07

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Bjoern » 16 Jul 2017, 18:47

wulfbindewald wrote:
16 Jul 2017, 14:19
What is weird?
This kind of display has been extra chosen to visualize the remaining distance to TOD beginning 20nm away from TOD. The alternative would be to include a TOD symbol for better visualization on the corresponding leg (as in reality) but the coding was far too complicate. So I strongly hope to remain with the current definition as is.
I'm not going to change what's displayed, I only want to make the underlying logic more error-proof.

wulfbindewald
Posts: 385
Joined: 20 Jan 2014, 21:27

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by wulfbindewald » 17 Jul 2017, 07:49

There is an issue from the beginning in the VC A321 default: The default and improved switches in the overhead panel create "wrong" sunlight shadows using FSX with the DX10 fixer, please see the pic below from Bjoern´s improved A320 1.60.

To Bjoern, any chance to get this corrected in the VC model or in the aircraft model, as you intend to improve these models anyway?
It seems that the sunlight penetrates the outer skin and the overhead panel.

To Flyer10, do you recognize similar weird shadow effects in P3D V4 ?

Image

Flyer10
Posts: 108
Joined: 01 Jan 2017, 14:59

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Flyer10 » 17 Jul 2017, 08:31

It could be your throttle spiking, mine are old now so sometimes the only way to stop them spiking is to move them to idle.

Also the throttle still works to a degree even with the autothrottle on, leave them at 50% and you wont get enough power for a climb so you have to move them to 90% and then its ok and the AT stays on during this but you can see the engine get more power.

Flyer10
Posts: 108
Joined: 01 Jan 2017, 14:59

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Flyer10 » 17 Jul 2017, 08:37

wulfbindewald wrote:
17 Jul 2017, 07:49

To Flyer10, do you recognize similar weird shadow effects in P3D V4 ?

I am not exactly sure what I should be looking for but the taxi and landing lights penetrate the cockpit and light up everything so it wouldn't surprise me if the sun can do something similar.

wulfbindewald
Posts: 385
Joined: 20 Jan 2014, 21:27

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by wulfbindewald » 17 Jul 2017, 09:07

Flyer10 wrote:
17 Jul 2017, 08:37
wulfbindewald wrote:
17 Jul 2017, 07:49

To Flyer10, do you recognize similar weird shadow effects in P3D V4 ?

I am not exactly sure what I should be looking for but the taxi and landing lights penetrate the cockpit and light up everything so it wouldn't surprise me if the sun can do something similar.
Here one further pic to show the sun-illuminated switch area during day.

Image

Flyer10
Posts: 108
Joined: 01 Jan 2017, 14:59

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Flyer10 » 17 Jul 2017, 10:29

wulfbindewald wrote:
17 Jul 2017, 09:07

Here one further pic to show the sun-illuminated switch area during day.
I see now, P3Dv4 has dynamic lighting which lights up the whole cockpit like that at night when you have the lights on. It looks like the model has some kind of deficiency where it can let light through although my cockpit shadows look fine in the daytime

It looks totally different to your screen shot.

Image

There is also another problem at night, all the white writing like hPa, In hg, ILS, Vor etc is duplicated on top of each other at night.

wulfbindewald
Posts: 385
Joined: 20 Jan 2014, 21:27

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by wulfbindewald » 17 Jul 2017, 11:16

Flyer10, it seems that Bjoern´s A320 VC updates from 5th June, 13:20, and 10th June, 17:53, have not been installed. Maybe this is the reason, why your VC looks generally different....but this is not the reason of my sun lighting prob on my end.

Flyer10
Posts: 108
Joined: 01 Jan 2017, 14:59

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Flyer10 » 17 Jul 2017, 12:26

Yes, I am still using the stock version but at least it confirms something has happened in Bjorns updates to make those shadows.

Bjoern
Posts: 85
Joined: 16 Sep 2016, 18:07

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Bjoern » 17 Jul 2017, 17:50

Could very well be an incompatible DX10 shader setting, but I've got more important fish to fry than correcting shadowing of some switches.


P.S: Running DX10 here as well.

Flyer10
Posts: 108
Joined: 01 Jan 2017, 14:59

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Flyer10 » 17 Jul 2017, 19:34

I was having trouble with reflections in V4 especially with the landing lights on but managed to fix it so if anyone thinks the reflections are over done, post and I can upload my new reflections file.

I also saw this gauge that prevents the nose dive on disengagement of the AP at low levels. Perhaps it could be put into the FD version?

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<SimBase.Document
Type="AceXML"
version="1,0"
id="SFCC">
<Descr>AceXML Document</Descr>
<Filename>A_SFCC.xml</Filename>
<SimGauge.Gauge id="Gauge">
<FloatPosition>0.000,0.000</FloatPosition>
<Update id="SFCC">
<Frequency>50</Frequency>
<Script>
(A:Radio height,feet) 98 &lt; if{ 0 (&gt;L:up,bool) }
(A:Radio height,feet) 100 &lt; (A:Radio height,feet) 98 &gt; &amp;&amp; (A:VERTICAL SPEED,feet per minute) -200 &lt; &amp;&amp; if{ 1 (&gt;L:up,bool) }
(L:up,bool) 1 == if{ -1500 (&gt;K:AXIS_ELEV_TRIM_SET) }
</Script>
</Update>
</SimGauge.Gauge>
</SimBase.Document>

wulfbindewald
Posts: 385
Joined: 20 Jan 2014, 21:27

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by wulfbindewald » 20 Jul 2017, 11:09

Flyer10 wrote:
17 Jul 2017, 19:34
I also saw this gauge that prevents the nose dive on disengagement of the AP at low levels. Perhaps it could be put into the FD version?
Bjoern´s A320 MOD: I could only duplicate this behaviour (nose up or nose down) if I do not locate the flight sim yoke into the neutral position before AP disengagement. I have a yoke where the neutral position is autom. ensured with a mech. spring adjustment. The A/C continues the travel w/o dive or nose up.
Also the joystick controller adjustment in the sim menu to "zero tolerance" might help, but not tested yet.

Flyer10
Posts: 108
Joined: 01 Jan 2017, 14:59

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Flyer10 » 21 Jul 2017, 09:10

wulfbindewald wrote:
20 Jul 2017, 11:09
Bjoern´s A320 MOD: I could only duplicate this behaviour (nose up or nose down) if I do not locate the flight sim yoke into the neutral position before AP disengagement. I have a yoke where the neutral position is autom. ensured with a mech. spring adjustment. The A/C continues the travel w/o dive or nose up.
Also the joystick controller adjustment in the sim menu to "zero tolerance" might help, but not tested yet.
It's a known sim FBW bug, try it a bit nose heavy (usually needed to get the descent done correctly) and see what happens, eg put 18000lbs in front and centre cargo. The nose drops like a stone and an impact with the ground is guaranteed. The Yoke has been untouched for 30 minutes.
Its because the AP trims up the elevator to keep it on the glideslope but resets it to zero when you turn off the AP. A bad thing at 300 feet. Bjorn may have fixed it by doing a similar thing but I don't have his mod so cannot be sure.

It may also be trimmed up further than normal for me because I never get the vref on the screen because it does't work unless you use an FD star.

Francois, there's also a bug in the A330 night lighting, the white writing has ghosting at night.

Image

wulfbindewald
Posts: 385
Joined: 20 Jan 2014, 21:27

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by wulfbindewald » 21 Jul 2017, 10:54

Flyer10 wrote:
21 Jul 2017, 09:10
wulfbindewald wrote:
20 Jul 2017, 11:09
Bjoern´s A320 MOD: I could only duplicate this behaviour (nose up or nose down) if I do not locate the flight sim yoke into the neutral position before AP disengagement. I have a yoke where the neutral position is autom. ensured with a mech. spring adjustment. The A/C continues the travel w/o dive or nose up.
Also the joystick controller adjustment in the sim menu to "zero tolerance" might help, but not tested yet.
It's a known sim FBW bug, try it a bit nose heavy (usually needed to get the descent done correctly) and see what happens, eg put 18000lbs in front and centre cargo. The nose drops like a stone and an impact with the ground is guaranteed. The Yoke has been untouched for 30 minutes.
Its because the AP trims up the elevator to keep it on the glideslope but resets it to zero when you turn off the AP. A bad thing at 300 feet. Bjorn may have fixed it by doing a similar thing but I don't have his mod so cannot be sure.
Now I could duplicate that the trim resets to zero after AP disengage and the nose down effect.

Another thing which bothers me since the beginning is that the ILS path during approach is not well followed under crosswind conditions above 10K. As a consequence I have to disengage AP much earlier to manually correct the path. An improvement would be appreciated....

Flyer10
Posts: 108
Joined: 01 Jan 2017, 14:59

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Flyer10 » 21 Jul 2017, 12:43

wulfbindewald wrote:
21 Jul 2017, 10:54

Another thing which bothers me since the beginning is that the ILS path during approach is not well followed under crosswind conditions above 10K. As a consequence I have to disengage AP much earlier to manually correct the path. An improvement would be appreciated....
That's exactly the scenario that leads to the nose drop, you get close and realise the plane can't make an autoland so you have to turn off the AP.

I am trying the gauge on the A330 and it seems to work and I haven't had a nose drop yet. I did a manual landing turning off the AP at 500 feet with a good sized cargo and it was faultless, I had to check FBW was enabled in the .cfg.

You can try these settings to help you with the autoland, I assume the AP uses the trim to increasing the latter 2 may help keep it on track.

aileron_effectiveness=1.0
rudder_effectiveness=1.0
aileron_trim_effectiveness=1.0
rudder_trim_effectiveness=1.0

Bjoern
Posts: 85
Joined: 16 Sep 2016, 18:07

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Bjoern » 21 Jul 2017, 17:40

Flyer10 wrote:
21 Jul 2017, 09:10
It's a known sim FBW bug, try it a bit nose heavy (usually needed to get the descent done correctly) and see what happens, eg put 18000lbs in front and centre cargo. The nose drops like a stone and an impact with the ground is guaranteed. The Yoke has been untouched for 30 minutes.
There's only so much a FBW can do and only so much leverage from the elevators. After all, there's a reason why aircraft come with center of gravity limits.

If A_SFCC.xml really works, I can integrate it into my FBW workarounds by setting the last elevator trim value used by the autopilot after the disconnect.


wulfbindewald wrote:
21 Jul 2017, 10:54
Another thing which bothers me since the beginning is that the ILS path during approach is not well followed under crosswind conditions above 10K. As a consequence I have to disengage AP much earlier to manually correct the path. An improvement would be appreciated....
The A320 autoland crosswind limit is 15 knots*.

If you want to improve glide path tracking, try adjusting the proportional, integrative and derivative terms of the autopilot's PID controller in the aircraft.cfg. See here: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... ocId942782




* http://www.airliners.net/forum/viewtopi ... #p10786045

wulfbindewald
Posts: 385
Joined: 20 Jan 2014, 21:27

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by wulfbindewald » 22 Jul 2017, 10:36

Bjoern wrote:
21 Jul 2017, 17:40
wulfbindewald wrote:
21 Jul 2017, 10:54
Another thing which bothers me since the beginning is that the ILS path during approach is not well followed under crosswind conditions above 10K. As a consequence I have to disengage AP much earlier to manually correct the path. An improvement would be appreciated....
The A320 autoland crosswind limit is 15 knots*.

If you want to improve glide path tracking, try adjusting the proportional, integrative and derivative terms of the autopilot's PID controller in the aircraft.cfg. See here: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... ocId942782
* http://www.airliners.net/forum/viewtopi ... #p10786045
Thanks, I´ll play a bit with the 3 lateral PID factors.

Just found a small bug in the A320 MOD: The ND switcher ILS-VOR-NAV-ARC-PLN-... shows a nav. rose again, if you continue to switch with the mouse to the right from PLN on. Info for Your disposition.

Bjoern
Posts: 85
Joined: 16 Sep 2016, 18:07

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Bjoern » 24 Jul 2017, 19:41

wulfbindewald wrote:
22 Jul 2017, 10:36
Just found a small bug in the A320 MOD: The ND switcher ILS-VOR-NAV-ARC-PLN-... shows a nav. rose again, if you continue to switch with the mouse to the right from PLN on. Info for Your disposition.
I know. I've left the sixth position in because the MFD is configured for it. Not sure what it's supposed to do though.

fdd_fr
Posts: 1633
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 16:02

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by fdd_fr » 26 Jul 2017, 17:53

Hello guys,

I promise you, I come back soon.....but I need to take some holidays to change my mind.....

and today, the is many forest fires in the south of the France, because wind is very heavy.

So, I took some pictures of Canadair in action.

Sorry for quality and color because I have just an old laptop to manage my pictures...

Sorry for this first picture, but I selected a to quick speed on my camera and propellers are frozen.........
:laugh:
Image


Image



Image


Image



Image



Image



Image


Image



Image



These pilots are incredible !!!!

Bjoern
Posts: 85
Joined: 16 Sep 2016, 18:07

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Bjoern » 26 Jul 2017, 17:57

While forests in southern France are burning, eastern Germany has nothing but rain for the last few days. Wish I could send some over.

zaflyer
Posts: 110
Joined: 18 Sep 2010, 08:05

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by zaflyer » 27 Jul 2017, 07:42

Wonderful pics...Stay safe and enjoy your hols..Well deserved
:-)

wulfbindewald
Posts: 385
Joined: 20 Jan 2014, 21:27

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by wulfbindewald » 27 Jul 2017, 08:59

For adventurer and bush pilots: There is a well done Bombardier CL415 aircraft with VC available in flightsim.com, bombardier_cl-415_v2_fsx.zip.

Image

zaflyer
Posts: 110
Joined: 18 Sep 2010, 08:05

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by zaflyer » 28 Jul 2017, 09:17

Looks good.Thanks for the HU.

Abdullah Radwan
Posts: 25
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 14:10

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by Abdullah Radwan » 02 Aug 2017, 14:24

Hello, I've send OEMA,OETF,HSSS,HSOB in June, but I don't see them in July airac, why?
I send them to airport email in manual.
Also, OKBK is ready.

wulfbindewald
Posts: 385
Joined: 20 Jan 2014, 21:27

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by wulfbindewald » 02 Aug 2017, 16:11

Abdullah Radwan wrote:
02 Aug 2017, 14:24
Hello, I've send OEMA,OETF,HSSS,HSOB in June, but I don't see them in July airac, why?
I send them to airport email in manual.
Also, OKBK is ready.
I recommend to send these data to "airport@freenavdbgroup.com" again.

fdd_fr
Posts: 1633
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 16:02

Re: Project FMC simplified for Project Airbus

Post by fdd_fr » 05 Aug 2017, 16:52

Hello Abdullah,

I am not at home and I haven't my PW to access to freenavdbgroup website and freenav mail server, so sorry, I cannot check if your airport have been arrived.

So excuse me, but you have to wait until first week of september, because I take some holydays currently and I have some professionals dates at the end of august.

So, I cannot update Freenav database in august.

Sorry for te convenience and send me a recall PM at the end of august;

For other airport authors, sorry for the delay; But may and june have been very difficult months for me and I required to change my mind.

Francois

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests